Benny Award

The Benny Award is our top award for service to Ball State University or the Ball State University Alumni Association. The award gets its name from the statue of Beneficence, the last commissioned piece of sculpture by Daniel Chester French, and the university’s long-standing symbol of unselfish contribution of one’s talents, energy, and time. The sculpture was dedicated September 26, 1937, as a symbol of the Ball family’s generosity to Ball State and the community. It is known by thousands of alumni, students, and visitors to campus.

Eligible candidates are Ball State alumni, university employees, community individuals, corporations, or businesses that contribute outstanding service. Recipients are selected and recommended by a committee of the Alumni Council on behalf of the Alumni Association. All awards are merit-based and no individual, corporation, organization, or business may receive the award more than once.

Benny Award plaques feature a stone shaped as the state of Indiana, taken from the original limestone facing of Beneficence when some of the stone work was replaced in 1972.

Nominate someone for a Benny Award by filling out our online nomination form or download a form to print and mail to us.

Applications are accepted throughout the year and will remain in consideration for three years.
To be considered for the current year, applications should be received by June 1.

2013 Benny Award Recipients were honored at the 2013 Homecoming Awards Dinner. Recipients include: Annette A. Munoz, '02, Douglas W. Reddington, '78, Michael L. Shumaker, '73 MAE '77, Bonnie J. Johnston, '71 MA '79, and Anthony O. Edmonds, George and Frances Ball Distinguished Professor of History, Emeritus.

2012 Benny Award Recipients

President Jo Ann Gora, Michael L. Shumaker, '73 MAE '77, Annette A. Munoz, '02,  Bonnie J. Johnston, '71 MA '79, Douglas W. Reddington, '78, Associate Vice President of Alumni Programs Julie Stroh.

Not pictured: Anthony O. Edmonds, George and Frances Ball Distinguished Professor of History, Emeritus


 View Past Award Recipients