Anthropology courses were first offered within the social science program at Ball State in 1955, but the first students to graduate with bachelor’s or master’s degrees in anthropology were in the class of 1970. A master of science program in archaeological resource management was offered between 1979 and 2000.

The Department of Anthropology’s current mission is to achieve excellence in undergraduate and graduate teaching, maintain active research, and engage in service activities within the university and public sectors. The structure of our department includes three of anthropology’s four subdisciplines: archaeology, biological anthropology, and cultural anthropology. The other subdiscipline, linguistics, is offered by the Department of English.

Our mission is fulfilled by advancing and promoting the integration of the four subdisciplines in our undergraduate and graduate curricula and anthropological inquiry. We are committed to quality and ethically responsible research and scholarship, and we strongly encourage innovative and collaborative research and teaching initiatives within the department and beyond.

We fully acknowledge our duty to promote greater understanding of human diversity in the university and public communities. In keeping with our goals, we are committed to intellectual freedom and equal opportunity for faculty, staff, and students and to professional ethics as stated in the Ball State University Handbook.