College of Architecture and Planning

Guest Lectures

March 16

Celebration of Life: Honoring Charles M. Sappenfield, FAIA

4:00 - 5:30 pm                   Ball State University       Alumni Center







March 16

Thom Mayne,                2005 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

7:30 pm

Pruis Hall




Charles M. Sappenfield served as the first dean of the College of Architecture and Planning when it was established by the state of Indiana in 1965. During his 16-year tenure as dean he established many traditions the school still uses today.  

Dean Sappenfield received many honors and recognitions during his career, including the Distinguished Hoosier award from Governor Otis Bowen, and the Sagamore of the Wabash, the highest honor in the State of Indiana, from Governor Robert Orr.  He was recognized by the National Association of Danish Architects and was given the Silver Medal for his dedication to Danish Architecture. 

He often spoke of looking forward to celebrating 50 years of the CAP, but sadly, he passed away prior to seeing this event realized.  As part of the 50th celebrations, we would like to invite you to come back to the CAP, and celebrate the life of this amazing man. We will hold a Celebration of Life in honor of Dean Sappenfield on March 16.  Scheduled speakers will reminisce of their time spent with Dean Sappenfield and tell of stories from the early days at the CAP.  Afterward, the CAP family will gather in Pruis Hall to participate in the Charles M. Sappenfield Lecture featuring Thom Mayne of Morphosis. 

Please RSVP to Lori Pence via email or call (765) 285-5879.


                                                                                                       Thom Mayne founded Morphosis as a collective architectural practice engaged in cross-disciplinary research and design. As Design Director and thought leader of Morphosis, Mayne provides overall vision and project leadership to the firm. Mayne’s distinguished honors include the Pritzker Prize (2005) and the AIA Gold Medal (2013). He was appointed to the President’s Committee on the Arts and Humanities in 2009, and was honored with the American Institute of Architects Los Angeles Gold Medal in 2000. With Morphosis, Thom Mayne has been the recipient of 25 Progressive Architecture Awards, over 100 American Institute of Architecture Awards and numerous other design recognitions.

Please RSVP to Lori Pence via email or call (765) 285-5879.





We continue to grow our collection of video lectures available online.  Feel free to browse the CAP collection in the Digital Media Repository of University Libraries.



College of Architecture and Planning
Architecture Building (AB), Room 104
Ball State University
Muncie, IN 47306

Phone: 765-285-5859
Fax: 765-285-3726
View E-mail Address