College of Architecture and Planning

CAP Architecture faculty, students, and alumni win awards

At the conclusion of this year’s American Institute of Architects Kentucky/Indiana Annual Convention, CAP Architecture faculty, students and alumni had walked away with award after award!

The 2012 Design Slam was won by our student-faculty team of Lauren Sherman, Ethan Coverstone, and Tony Costello. Teams from the University of Kentucky and professional firms competed in the Design Slam too.

The Ball State University Libraries and College of Architecture and Planning’s Architecture Library and Drawings + Documents Archive received the Walter S. Blackburn Award; given annually to a person or organization that has contributed time and service in support of the architectural profession. As the only archives dedicated to the history of Indiana’s built environment, it provides educational and community access to thousands of original and irreplaceable architectural drawings, blueprints, photographs, 3D models and other media. The award was presented to Carol Street, Archivist for Architectural Records, and Amy Trendler, Architecture Librarian.

Distinguished professor emeritus of architecture, Tony Costello, FAIA, received the Gold Medal Award from the American Institute of Architects Indiana (AIA) for his role in educating and mentoring architecture students and helping give Indiana architects national visibility. The AIA Indiana Gold Medal is the highest honor that AIA Indiana can bestow on an individual.

Deb Kunce, FAIA, (B.Arch '93) received the J. Peddle Award, which recognizes those with a willingness to pioneer and has a devotion and commitment to architecture. In addition, she is also one of the youngest people to be elevated to AIA Fellow, one of the highest achievements for an architect. Kunce is a principal at Schmidt Associates.

Zach Benedict, AIA, (M.Arch '05) and Dan Overbey, AIA, (B.Arch '05) both received the Young Architect Award.

Zach Benedict has been a community activist in promoting the redevelopment of downtown Fort Wayne. He recently received CAP's Outstanding Achievement Alumni Award and was also chosen as one of Fort Wayne Business Weekly's "40 under 40". He is partner at Morrison Kattman Menze, Inc.

Dan Overbey is the Director of Sustainable Design Practices for Browning Day Mullins Dierdorf Architects in Indianapolis. He is a regular contributor to Environmental Design + Construction magazine and also teaches environmental systems at CAP.

The award for 2012 Design Firm of the Year Award was presented to One 10 Studio. Jeff Echols (B.Arch '93) is an associate and Director of Construction Management for One 10 Studio and Patrick Kestner (B.Arch '00) is the firm's Project Manager.

One 10 Studio's award not only honored the firm's exemplary designs, but also its community commitment and its philosophy of grassroots design and community engagement.

Congratulations to all!

    College of Architecture and Planning
    Architecture Building (AB), Room 104
    Ball State University
    Muncie, IN 47306

    Phone: 765-285-5859
    Fax: 765-285-3726
    View E-mail Address