Upper Wabash Valley School Study Council

The Upper Wabash Valley School Study Council (UWVSSC) is an organization of 24 school corporations along with corporate sponsor, Dave Corner, NORESCO.  UWVSSC is located in the North-Central Indiana counties of Adams, Allen, Cass, Huntington, Miami, Wabash, Wells, and Whitley.

Membership in the UWVSSC consists of those public school systems that subscribe to the purposes of the Council, wish to share in its activities, and pay dues.  Membership is open at any time to public school systems in the Indiana counties of Allen, Adams, Wells, Whitley, Cass, Wabash, Huntington, and Miami.  Ball State University (BSU) is an associate member and the sponsoring institution.

Governed By

UWVSSC is governed by the following officers elected annually:  President, Vice President, and Treasurer.  The Executive Director, a member of the Ball State University faculty, is appointed annually by the Council.  Each officer, with the exception of the Executive Director and corporate sponsor, is the Chief Administrative Officer of a member school system.  2013-14 Officers:  President, Mr. Chris Himsel, Superintendent, Northwest Allen County Schools; Vice President, Dr. Sherry Grate, Superintendent DeKalb Central USD; Treasurer, Mr. Jason Callahan, Superintendent.


Council meetings are held on the third Wednesday of each month at Huntington University in Huntington, Indiana.  The meeting venue is the Habecker Dining Hall, with coffee and conversation from 9:00 – 9:30 a.m. with the business meeting running from 9:30 a.m. to noon. 

Specific meeting dates for the 2013-14 year follow – the third Wednesday of each month September 2013-May 2014:

  • September 18, 2013
  • October 16, 2013
  • November 20, 2013
  • December 18, 2013
  • January 15, 2014
  • February 19, 2014
  •  March 19, 2014
  • April 16, 2014
  • May 21, 2014

A summer retreat will be conducted during the month of June 2014 with those dates yet to be determined.

For more information about the Upper Wabash Valley School Study Council contact:

Dr. Terry Wiedmer

UWVSSC Executive Director

Ball State University

Teachers College 813 Muncie, IN  


Email  twiedmer@bsu.edu

Phone 765-285-2871

Fax 765-285-5489.

Executive Committee Officers for 2013-2014

President  Mr. Chris Himsel, Superintendent, Northwest Allen County Schools
Vice President  Dr. Sherry Grate, Superintendent, DeKalb Central USD
Treasurer  Mr. Jason Callahan, Superintendent, Wabash City Schools
Social Chairman  Dr. Pat O’Connor, Superintendent, Whitley County Consolidated Schools and  Mr. Scott Litwiller, South Adams Schools
Legislative Liason     Dr. Scott Mills, Northern Wells Community Schools
Corporate Sponsor
Dave Corner, NORESCO


Upper Wabash Valley School Study Council's Membership List

Upper Wabash Valley School Study Council's Schedule of Meetings

Department of Educational Leadership
Teachers College (TC), Room 903
Ball State University
Muncie, IN 47306-0590

Hours: Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Phone: 765-285-8488
Fax: 765-285-2166