The European Teacher Education Network's (ETEN) annual Exchange Coordinators/Thematic Interest Group Leaders Meeting was hosted by Ball State University, September 9-12, 2010. ETEN was founded in 1988, has 47 member institutions in 14 countries, and aims to promote a wide range of cooperation, exchange, research and publication possibilities especially in the area of teacher preparation. Ball State has been a member of ETEN since 1996.

Associate Provost Marilyn Buck and Dr. James Applegate from the Lumina Foundation gave welcoming remarks at a dinner held September 9. Teachers College Dean John Jacobson gave opening remarks at the beginning of the group's business meeting held at the BSU Alumni Center on September 10. While on campus, the ETEN delegates met with Andreas Schleicher, a Ball State University 2009-2010 Emens Distinguished Professor, to discuss the global context of education. Delegates also enjoyed a performance by the Burris Middle School Orchestra, conducted by Carol Jenkins, and a walking tour of campus.