Theatrical Studies

Guest Artists

The faculty of Ball State University's Department of Theatre and Dance believe that guest artists are essential to the training of theatre students.The numerous guest artists who have visited the campus include the following:

Acting and Musical Theatre

  • Sutton Foster (Tony Award winning actor)
  • Marlee Matlin (Oscar Winning Actor)
  • Lindsay Crouse (Oscar Nominated actor)
  • Julie Harris (Tony Award Winner Actor)
  • Alan Arkin (Oscar Winning Actor)
  • Jeff Corey (Film Actor and Master Teacher)
  • Danny Burstein (Tony Award Nominated Actor)
  • Steve Blanchard (Broadway Actor)
  • Loni Ackerman (Broadway Performer)
  • Bill Reed (Master Voice Teacher)
  • Joel Hall (Master Choreographer)
  • David Krumholtz (Film Actor)
  • Doug Jones (Film Actor and Alumnus)
  • Anthony Montgomery (Film Actor and Alumna)
  • Scott Halberstadt (Film Actor and Alumnus)
  • Ryan Woodle (Film Actor and Alumnus)
  • David Shire (Broadway Composer)
  • John Tovar (Movement and Combat Teacher)
  • Chris Albright (Classical Actor and Alumna)
  • Jeff Caldwell (NY Musical Director)
  • Tom Clear (Chicago Musical Director)
  • Joyce DeWitt (Film/Stage Actor and Alumna)
  • Anthony Hagopian (Broadway Actor)
  • Dudley Knight (Classical Actor & Nationally Recognized Acting Teacher)
  • Cynda Williams (Film Actor and Alumna)
  • Niels Underland (International Movement Teacher)

Design & Technology

  • Steven Canyon Kennedy (Broadway Sound Designer)
  • Kurt Sharp (Chicago Scenic Designer)
  • Markas Henry (New York Costume/Scene Designer and Alumnus)
  • Andy Catron (New York lighting designer and Alumnus)
  • Kathryn Rohe (National and Regional Costume Designer)
  • John Stark (Award Winning Scenic Designer)
  • Jeff Koger (Obie Award Winning Lighting Designer and Alumnus)
  • Tony Brown (Nationally Recognized Media Designer)
  • Binky Donely (Direcor of Props @ Krannert Center for the Arts)
  • Ryan Koharchik (Lighting Designer and Alumnus)
  • Robert Koharchik (Scenic Designer and Alumnus)
  • Robert Kovach (Chicago Scenic Designer)
  • Kim Morris (Costume Designer)
  • Lauren Lowell (Costume Designer)
  • Aaron Paolucci (Sound Designer)

Production, Casting, and Theatre Education

  • Stephanie Klapper (NY Casting Director for Broadway/Regional)
  • Erica Daniels (Steppenwolf Theatre Casting Director)
  • Mark Saks (LA Casting Director for TV and Film)
  • Richard Schechner (Director and Theorist)
  • Moises Kaufman (Tony Award Nominated Playwright/ Director)
  • Marsha Norman (Tony Award Winning Playwright)
  • Bill Osetek (Artistic Director of Drury Lane Oak Brook Theatre)
  • Michael Peitz (Executive Director of Educational Theatre Assoc.)
  • Collen Tovar (Stage Management)
  • Claire Sinnett (LA Casting Director)
  • Shanga Parker (Director)
  • Deborah Barylski (Los Angeles Agent)
  • Bruce Economu (Los Angeles Manager)
  • Kara Volkmann (NY Agent & Alumna)
  • Suzan Zeder (Playwright)
  • Jane Brody (Casting Director and Acting Teacher)


  • Twyla Evans (Tony Winning Choreographer)
  • Luigi (International Jazz Dance Teacher)
  • Bill Evans (Bill Evans Company)
  • Trinette Singleton (Former Principal, Joffrey Ballet)
  • James Neirinck (Modern Dance)
  • Alan Sener (Modern Dance)
  • Robert Gardner (Ballet)
  • Charlotte Adams (Modern Dance)
  • Kennet Oberly (Ballet)
  • Luis Bravo (Ballet)
  • Twyla Tharp (Kennedy Center Honoree & International Choreographer)
  • Beverly Bautista (Hip Hop Teacher and Alumna)
  • Gail Benedict (Musical Theatre)
  • Joel Hall (Master Choreographer)
  • Selena Comendador (Member of Alvin Ailey)
  • Dawn Dyson (Folk Dance Teacher and Alumna)
  • David Hochoy (Modern)
  • Lovar Davis Kidd (Tap)
  • Jennifer Medina (Modern)
  • Holly Stultz (Musical Theatre)

Department of Theatre and Dance
Arts and Communications Building, Room AC 306
Ball State University
Muncie, IN 47306

Phone: 765-285-8740
Fax: 765-285-4030
View E-mail Address