Natural Resources and Environmental Management Alumni Society


The purpose of the Society shall be to promote the advancement of the educational, professional, and social interests of the members of the Natural Resources and Environmental Management Alumni Society, individually and collectively, by:

  • Promoting and assisting the Ball State University Alumni Association in achieving its mission and goals.
  • Creating a networking opportunity, both professionally and socially, for Natural Resources and Environmental Management (NREM) alumni.
  • Developing a wider acquaintance with, and fellowship among, the members of the Society and the students and faculty of the Department of NREM.
  • Providing a forum for the consideration of problems and issues pertaining to natural resources and environmental management and requests for services to the mutual benefit of the NREM faculty and members of the Society.
  • Taking joint action, when and where appropriate, for the improvement of the status of the profession in the field and the professional offerings and services of the Department of NREM.
  • Encouraging high standards for the Department of NREM and working for greater recognition of the importance of NREM in society.
  • Serving as an auxiliary arm of the Department of NREM in:
  • Providing input from the NREM community on what that community views as desirable in graduates and recommending courses and curricula that would achieve that goal.
  • Being involved in the recruitment of students and funding for the Department of NREM.
  • Serving as a sounding board and advisory panel for the chair/faculty of the Department of NREM when consulted.

If you would like to volunteer for NREM events or to share information for the BSU alumnus magazine, please fill out our online form.

Board of Directors
James Davis, '93, President
Denise Wright, '86,Vice President
Danesa Stolz, '97, Past President
Terry Coleman, '84, Alumni Council Representative 
Jimmie Eflin, Department Chair
Juan Carlos Ramirez-Doronsorro, Faculty Representative
Keegan Waggener, Student Representative
Jerry Hartley, '99, Associate Member 
Don Van Meter, Associate Member
Nat Baker, '04
John Bergman, '71
Kyle Johnson, '01
Timothy Johnson, '85
Emily Kress, '69 MAE '72
Jason LeMaster, '93
John Maher, '85
Bruce Oldham, '98
Amanda Smith, '98
Dean Smith, MA '79  

Alumni Association Contacts  
Laura Waldron, '98 MPA '00

Annual Activities
Internship & Career Fair 
Regional Outing
Spring NREM Student Awards Reception


  • Award of Distinction
  • Award of Achievement
  • Award of Merit

2012 NREM Alumni Society Board of DirectorsSeated: Amanda Smith,’98; Danesa Stolz,’97; Emily Kress,’69MAE72; Denise Wright,’86. Standing: Jason LeMaster,’93; Tim Johnson,’85; Terry Coleman,’84; John Maher,’85; John Bergman,’71; Nat Baker,’04; James Davis, ’93; Bruce Oldham,’98; Dean Smith,MA79. Not pictured: Kyle Johnson,’01; Jerry Hartley,’99, associate member; Donald Van Meter, associate member; Juan Carlos Ramirez-Doronsorro, faculty representative; James Eflin, department chair; Sue Taylor, ’71, BSUAA, Laura Waldron,’98 MPA '00, BSUAA
John Maher ’85, NREM White River Clean-up coordinator, and Amanda Smith, ’98, president of the NREM Alumni Society Board of Directors, receive the 2007 award for Outstanding Community Service from Dr. James Eflin, department chair. The Award is presented annually by the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Management. The NREM Alumni Society has been conducting two clean-ups each year on a one-mile stretch near Noblesville.

Join us on