The following holidays are recognized as university holidays:

  • New Year's Day
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
  • Memorial Day
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Day following Thanksgiving Day
  • Christmas Day
  • One additional holiday

The additional holiday is to be celebrated on a day declared by the President of the university. An employee will be entitled to pay for the aforementioned holidays provided the employee is in an uninterrupted pay status the last scheduled workday preceding the holiday and the first scheduled workday following the holiday. To meet eligibility requirements, paid time off must be applied consecutively and immediately following the last day worked.

If an employee terminates employment, no pay will be received for holidays occurring after the last day worked even though the holidays fall within the period of the employee's projected terminal vacation leave (if any).

On the last university workday preceding Christmas Day and New Year's Day, workdays for regular, full-time employees are normally reduced by two hours.