Profiles in Excellence

Each year Ball State recognizes exemplary faculty members for their outstanding scholarly and creative achievements. Nominated and selected by their peers, the Researcher of the Year Award

recognizes a faculty member for his or her contributions to research. The Creative Endeavor Award

recognizes the contributions of members of the university community in the creative arts.

The most recent awardee, geology professor Richard Fluegeman was recognized for his research on climate change and dedicated work with students. Mark Neely, associate professor of English, was recognized for his impressive productivity in creative writing.

Read more about these faculty members and their scholarly activities: 
Researcher of the Year: Richard Fluegeman 

  • Creative Endeavor Award: Mark Neely