Burris Delay 1.26.15BSU Alert: Burris Laboratory School is on a two-hour delay for Monday, Jan. 26.
E.B. and Bertha C. Ball Center Banner

Guests of Honor

John Gilstrap is The New York Times bestselling author of ten thrillers, including High Treason (August, 2013), Damage Control, Threat WarningHostage Zero, No Mercy, Six Minutes to Freedom (nonfiction), Scott Free, Even Steven, At All Costs, and Nathan’s Run.  Four of the books were Literary Guild selections. His novels have been translated into more than 20 languages. John has also adapted four bestselling novels for the big screen: Red Dragon (uncredited from the Thomas Harris novel, for Dino DeLaurentiis Productions), Word of Honor (from the Nelson DeMille novel, for Dino DeLaurentiis Productions); Young Men and Fire (from the Norman Maclean book, for Baltimore/Spring Creek Pictures/Warner Brothers); and Nathan’s Run (from his own novel, also for Warner Brothers).  He is currently signed to write the screen adaptation for Six Minutes to Freedom for Sesso Entertainment. A former firefighter and EMT, John holds a master’s degree in safety engineering from the University of Southern California and a bachelor’s degree in history from the College of William and Mary in Virginia. 

Commendations for Gilstrap:

  • "Gilstrap will leave you breathless."-- Harlan Coben
  • "Gilstrap pushes every thriller button."-- San Francisco Chronicle
  • "Rocket-paced suspense."-- Jeffery Deaver
  • "A great hero, a really exciting series."-- Joseph Finder
  • Threat Warning was a nominee for the 2012 International Thriller Awards in the Best Paperback Original category!

Robert Wilson is a British crime-writer currently resident in Portugal. He is the son of an RAF fighter pilot, and has a degree in English from Oxford. Wilson is the author of the Bruce Medway series, set in and around Benin, West Africa, and the Javier Falcón series, set largely in Seville, Spain. He is also the author of the espionage novel The Company of Strangers and A Small Death In Lisbon, which consists of a historically split narrative, and won the CWA Gold Dagger in 1999. He was shortlisted for the same award again in 2003 for The Blind Man of Seville, the first in the Javier Falcón series. The second novel in the series, The Silent and the Damned (titled: The Vanished Hands in the U.S.), won the 2006 Gumshoe Award for Best European Crime Novel, presented by Mystery Ink. The Javier Falcon series has been made for Sky television by Mammoth Screen titled Falcón with Marton Csokas in the title role.

Accolades for Robert’s newest release, Capital Punishment ...

  • “Like most of Wilson's novels, this one occupies the shadow territory between the crime novel and the intelligent thriller... it's dark and powerful stuff. And the ending has a kick like a horse.” -- Andrew Taylor, The Spectator 
  • “Fast-moving and breathlessly exciting, this is the first of a series to feature Charles Boxer from award-winning author Robert Wilson.” -- Myles McWeeney, Irish Independent
  • “Gripping from start to finish, this intricately plotted page-turner will keep you transfixed.” Choice“Absolutely brilliant.” -- Peterborough Evening Telegraph