Rinard Orchid Greenhouse 2018 Event Schedule

Saturdays - Second Saturday of each month, 1-2 p.m.unless otherwise noted

Lunch at the Rinard Orchid Greenhouse
First Wednesday of each month, noon-1 p.m.

Bring your lunch to the Rinard Orchid Greenhouse and enjoy a peaceful lunch break among the orchids.

Winter Greenhouse Tour
Saturday, January 13, 1-2 p.m.

Come get out of the cold and enjoy the tropics in Muncie at the Rinard Orchid Greenhouse.

Heartfelt Fun & Orchids for Love
Saturday, February 10, 11 a.m.-2 p.m.

For children ages 5+ and adults.

Community Photographers Invitation Day
Saturday, March 3, 8 a.m.-noon

Docent Training
Saturday, April 7, 10 a.m.-noon

Annual Greenhouse Fundraiser, Plant Sale and Orchid Care Demo
Saturday, April 28, 9 a.m.-noon

Tropical Creatures: Birds, Butterflies and More
Saturday, May 12, 1-2 p.m.

To Be Announced
Saturday, June 9

Mid-summer Night's Dream
Saturday, July 14, 7-8:30 p.m.

Experience the Rinard Orchid Greenhouse at night with the Muncie Ballet Studio, search for elves and fairies and see night-fragrant blooms. Fair costumes encouraged. Unlimited attendance.

Ball State University Welcome Week
Saturday, August 18, general tours from 10 a.m.-3 p.m.

Succulents: What's Not to Love?
Saturday, September 8

Succulent growing and propagation. Learn how to re-pot and keep your plant health. Limited to 15 people.

Family Weekend
TBA, general tours from 10 a.m.-3 p.m.

Community Artists Invitation Day
Saturday, October 13, 10 a.m.-noon and 1-2 p.m.

Sketch and "plein air" in the Rinard Orchid Greenhouse.

Tropical Edibles
Saturday, November 10, 1-2 p.m.

Have you ever wondered where bananas really come from? Join us for an  introduction to tropical food plants. Food will be served! For families, children ages 5+ (chaperone required for ages 8-10).

Evening Holiday Open House
Saturday, December 1, 6-9 p.m.

Experience the Rinard Orchid Greenhouse at night, decorated for the holidays. 

Concurrent: Glass demos/sales at the Marilyn K. Glick Center for Glass, Charles Brown Planetarium shows and the Minnetrista Luminaria (with MITS Trolley shuttle available).


  • Greenhouse programs are free of charge and open to the public. Most programs are suitable for ages 5+.
  • For location and parking information, click here.
  • For general questions about the greenhouse and greenhouse events, contact Cheryl LeBlanc.