College of Architecture and Planning

Third-year urban planning studio wins national award


The American Institute of Certified Planners (AICP) Student Project Awards Jury, selected the project “Old West End Neighborhood Action Plan” as a winner of a 2014 AICP Student Project Award for 2014. 

The project was completed by Lisa Dunaway’s PLAN 302 studio class in fall 2013, and details recommendations for the Old West End Neighborhood Association in Muncie, including housing, infrastructure, land use, safety, and quality of life. 

The Old West End Neighborhood Action Plan (OWENAP) is a citizen-generated policy regarding the future of the neighborhood, and contains initiatives that are developed by the residents of the neighborhood.  The OWENAP falls under the umbrella of the Muncie Action Plan, which is a strategic guide for the city to create an action agenda for the future.

Over the course of the semester, the students’ knowledge of planning grew to include such skills as public speaking, professional report writing, and survey creation.  They also discovered many sources of information that are helpful to community development including making connections with local organizations, researching grant opportunities, and the importance of establishing relationships within a community. An important take-away from the project is that students learned the interdependence of the built and social environments, a lesson that will stay with them for the rest of their professional career.

Lisa Dunaway, AICP, LEED AP, has taught the Urban and Neighborhood Analysis Studio for three years.  Students involved in the project were Ty Adley, Adam Beauchot, Davonte Caldwell, Erin Cotant, Chelsea Fenimore, Taylor Firestine, Dylan Fisher, Ellen Forthofer, Brock Goodwin, Daniel Greenfield, Haley James, Seth Koons, Nathan Law, Charles Russell, Mackenzie Thibault, and Derek Walker.

The project will be recognized with an Honor Award, given in recognition of special achievement by undergraduate planning students. The award will be presented at the Annual Meeting and Leadership Honors Ceremony at the 2014 American Planning Association National Planning Conference in Atlanta.