College of Fine Arts

Teaching Award

The College of Fine Arts Dean's Teaching Award is presented annually to a faculty member within Ball State's School of Art, School of Music, or Department of Theatre and Dance who demonstrates outstanding teaching and exemplary dedication to student learning. Each year, the winner is selected by Dean Robert Kvam based upon a cumulative record of excellence in the classroom or studio.

The recipient of the Dean's Teaching Award receives a commemorative gift from the college, speaks at the College of Fine Arts graduation exercises in May.

Award Recipients

Andy Beane, Art (2015)

Wendy Saver, Art (2014)

Shawn Vondran, Music (2013)

Heidi Jensen, Art (2012)

Karen Kessler, Theatre (2011)

Ryan Hourigan, Music (2010)

Ted Neal, Art (2009)

Kip Shawger, Theatre (2008)

Keith Sweger, Music (2007)

Patricia Nelson, Art (2006)
Article: Watershed Moments

Michael O'Hara, Theatre (2005)
Article: Teaching at Center of O'Hara's Artistic Life

David Foley, Music (2004)

Michael Prater, Art (2003)
Article: More Than Communicators

Michael Worcel, Dance (2002)
Article: One Step at a Time

Elizabeth Richter, Music (2001)

John Gee, Art (2000)
Article: Drawing the Line

Erwin Mueller, Music (1999)

Lou Ann Young, Dance (1998)

Patricia Nelson, Art (1997)

Linda Pohly, Music (1996)

Judy Yordon, Theatre (1995)