Chemistry 3 3 175

Student and Faculty Awards and Accomplishments

Our 2014 Fall Tea Awards Banquet was held November 7, 2014. This program recognizes and awards our outstanding students and honors and remembers people who have made an impact on our lives. The awards presented included:

  • The David C. McIntyre Memorial Scholarship – Sabrina Mangapora
  • Mikal Lynn Sousa Memorial Scholarship – Megan Jensen
  • Newell C. Cook Sr. and Jr. Scholarship – Amie Baker
  • Park Wiseman Scholarship – Raven Chason, Veronica Daye, Ernesto Del Toro, Logan Edwards, Olivia Manahan, Justin Sheets
  • Sandra K. And Robert J. Morris Scholarship- Katherine Bird, Cory Diemler
  • Cardinal Chemist Scholarship - Dayna Arnett, Alyssa Williams
  • D.J. Angus Scientech Chemistry Award - Caleb Havlin
  • General Chemistry - Seth Abels, Heather Ashby, Allyson Garrett, Christopher Held, Aleksandrea Kuchenbrod, Jimmie Lang, Adam Linscott, Kaela Miller, Sarah Rees, Jennifer Richardson, Margaret Schmits, Katherine Venosky, Ellen Wagner

The following graduating seniors received awards at our Annual Senior Recognition Banquet on April 16, 2014:

  • Ralph Joyner Positive Attitude Award - Rachael Wisler
  • Outstanding Senior Award - Anna Salvati
  • Outstanding Performance by a Pre-Professional Chemist - Emily Wimbec
  • Excellence In Undergraduate Research - Christopher Fullenkamp, Matthew Bunner
  • Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award - Kreg Terry
  • Outstanding Graduate Student Research Award - Pamela Filby
  • Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award - Pamela Filby
  • Extracurricular Service and Leadership - Alec Ribblett
  • Excellence in Biochemistry - Leigh Stevenson
  • Applied Chemistry (outstanding performance by a student interested in a career in chemical industry) - Amani Al-Nossiff    

The Student Affiliates of the American Chemical Society (ACS) won an Honorable Mention at the National ACS Meeting in New Orleans for recognition of their service and also won an Outstanding Organization Public Service Award from the Ball State Student Voluntary Services.

Our faculty members have a long history of being outstanding teachers. In 2008 two faculty members, Scott Pattison and Patricia Lang, were among the 10 finalists for the Excellence in Teaching Award. Lang was selected as one of the winners and taught “The Chemistry of Artists’ Pigments” as her dream course in the spring 2009.  In 2010, Tykhon Zubkov also received the Excellence in Teaching Award.  The department is proud of his accomplishments and he is able to pursue his dream course "Nanomaterials: The Chemistry Perspective" in the Spring of 2011.

Department of Chemistry
Ball State University
Cooper Physical Science Building, room 305
Muncie, IN 47306

Hours: 8 a.m.-5 p.m. weekdays
Phone: 765-285-8060
Fax: 765-285-6505