The following graduating seniors received awards at our Annual Senior Recognition Banquet on April 12, 2018:

  • Ralph Joyner Positive Attitude Award - Rachel Hines
  • Outstanding Senior Award - Abygail Waggoner
  • Outstanding Performance by a Pre-Professional Chemist - Alyssa Heintschel
  • Excellence In Undergraduate Research - Cristina Perez
  • Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award - Sarah Pruitt
  • Excellence in Graduate Teaching - Tyler Williams
  • Excellence in Graduate Research - Clayton Westerman
  • Cooper Award - Anna-Kay West

Our 2017 Fall Tea Awards Banquet was held November 3, 2017. This program recognizes and awards our outstanding students and honors and remembers people who have made an impact on our lives. The awards presented included:

  • The David C. McIntyre Memorial Scholarship – Hanna Newell
  • Mikal Lynn Sousa Memorial Scholarship – Abygail Waggoner
  • Reiber Family Homeschool Scholarship - Katelyn Buchanan
  • Park Wiseman Scholarship – Craig Weinberger, Macon Shroyer, Charles Barrios, Alexis Craven, Austin Jones, Sara Biallas, Chimere Nnatubeugo
  • Sandra K. And Robert J. Morris Scholarship - Joshua Wilson
  • Cardinal Chemist Scholarship - Molly Winn, Georgia Hummel
  • D.J. Angus Scientech Chemistry Award - Brandon Watson
  • General Chemistry - Jonah Austin, Jackson Branson, Alan Brutchen, Spencer Deats, Jake Durbin, Andrew Garrett, Joseph Huang, Jordan Keller, Luke Miller, Hanna Newell, Jackson Schoettle, Kalee Snorden


Ball State Student Affiliates of the American Chemical Society won an Illuminary Award for Science Day at the 246th American Chemical Society National Meeting and Exposition, Indianapolis, IN. September 9, 2013

The department held the Annual Reception for Chemistry Corporate Partners on July 16, 2013. In attendance were representatives from: Colorcon, Living Essentials, Mansfield King, Sherry Laboratories, Greatbatch Medical, Pace Analytical, Aptuit, and the Muncie Bureau of Water Quality.  Industry representatives attended an informal reception hosted by the faculty and staff of the department and then visited with more than 30 students who presented the results of their summer research at a poster session.


The Chemistry Research Immersion Summer Program is currently one of the largest in the nation. During summer 2013, there were 35 students in the program. Paul Coan has served as director of the program for the last few years.


Dr. Bob and Mrs. Sandy Morris have announced the establishment of the Robert and Sandy Morris Scholarship. The scholarship was awarded to incoming freshmen students (starting in fall 2012) pursuing a major in the department of chemistry with an excellent academic record. It will be renewable for three years thus allowing a total of four years eligibility. A similar scholarship will be awarded in the nursing department. 
About the donors: Sandra K. and Robert J. Morris both graduated from Wapahani High School in Selma, Indiana, where they met and began dating. They were married in 1985 and have two children, Chelsea Anne, and Jacob Charles.
Sandra graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree from Ball State University in 1984, after which time she specialized in cardiology, medical-surgical nursing, and endoscopy. Over the years, while maintaining certification in Advanced Cardiac Life Support, Sandra was the clinical coordinator at the Amelia T. Wood Health Center at Ball State University, was a critical care nurse in a hospital burn unit, served as an oncology nurse at Carle Hospital in Champaign, IL, and was an infusion nurse at Medical Consultants in Muncie, IN. 
Robert graduated cum laude from Ball State University in 1986 with a Bachelor of Science degree in Chemistry and departmental honors. After graduation, he attended the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, where he earned his doctorate (with honors) in inorganic chemistry in 1990. Following Illinois, Robert served as a National Institutes of Health Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of California at Berkeley. In 1991, he joined the chemistry faculty at Ball State as an assistant professor and began teaching undergraduate and graduate chemistry courses. He established a research group in the area of organometallic chemistry, as well. Following promotion to full professor in 1999, Robert became the Chair of the Department of Chemistry in 2002. After serving in this role for five years, he was appointed Associate Provost for Research and Dean of the Graduate School at Ball State University.