The Dr. Janet Ross Scholarship for Teachers of English as a Second Language is a merit award. The amount may be divided among several students, if so recommended by the selection committee. English undergraduate majors in English/language arts with a teaching English as a Second Language (ESL) concentration and English graduate majors in Teaching English as a Second Language (TESOL) or Linguistics and Teaching English as a Second Language (TESOL) joint program are eligible to apply.

The recipient shall display those characteristics of scholarship, character, and leadership which, in the judgment of the selection committee, are considered essential for success in the field of teaching English as a second language.

Application deadline: 5 p.m. March 20.  Apply now.

Recent Scholarship Winners


Kelly Levans
Arthur Marsh          


Morgan Aprill
Sarah Isaacson
Sharon Jackson
Emilie Schiess


Seula Han
Isaac Muhando


Leslie Erlenbaugh


Brittany Snyder
Thomas St. Pierre


Tiffany Ellis


Hilary Brown
Phillip Call