As its name suggests, the In Print Festival of First Books is a two-day event bringing writers who have just published their first books as well as an editor from a small press or literary journal to campus to give readings, talk about their experiences getting published, and work with our students.

In Print XIII (2018) will feature poet Carolina Ebeid, fiction writer Nick White, and creative nonfiction writer Jan Shoemaker. Ebeid, White, and Shoemaker will read from their work on Wednesday, March 28 at 8 PM in the Student Center Ballroom. They will be joined by publisher/editor Kristen Elias Rowley for a panel discussion about the publication industry on Thursday, March 29 at 8 PM in the Student Center Ballroom.

  • In Print XII (2017) featured poet Iliana Rocha, fiction writer Sequoia Nagamatsu, creative nonfiction writer Dan Raeburn and editor Mary Biddinger.

  • In Print XI (2016) featured fiction writer Gabriel Urza, nonfiction writer Sarah Einstein, poet Sarah Blake, and editor Keith Tuma.

  • In Print X (2015) featured authors Celeste Ng, Tyler Gobble, Kerry Howley, with guest editor and author Jodee Stanley.

  • In Print IX (2014) featured authors Mario Alberto Zambrano, Natalie Shapero, T Fleischmann, with guest editor and author Jodee Stanley. 

  • In Print VIII (2013) featured authors Eugene Cross, Elena Passarello, Marcus Wicker, with guest editor and author Sarah Wells.

  • In Print VII (2012) featured authors Caitlin Horrocks, Glenn Shaheen, Bonnie J. Rough, and special guest Christopher Newgent of Vouched Books.

  • In Print VI (2011) featured authors Tina May Hall, Paul Killebrew, Debra Gwartney, and the editors of Artifice Magazine.

  • In Print V (2010) featured authors Mary Miller, Mitchell Douglas, Kao Kalia Yang, and Matt Bell.

  • In Print IV (2009) featured authors Nickole Brown, Laurie Lindeen, and Kyle Minor, who read from their first books and joined Mehdi Okasi for a panel discussion on writing and publishing.

  • In Print III (2007) featured authors Alan DeNiro, David Griffith, and Sharmila Voorakkara.

  • In Print II (2006) featured authors Joy Castro, poet Victoria Chang, Ander Monson, and special guest Nickole Brown.

  • In Print I (2005) featured authors Amy Benson, Christopher Coake, Cynie Cory, and Brad Land.