Doctorate in Environmental Sciences

Seminar Series

The Environmental Sciences Ph.D. Program hosts a weekly seminar series during the academic year featuring presentations by individuals (students, faculty and invited guests) discussing their research within the environmental sciences. These presentations are free and open to the public.

Click here to view previous semester's seminar schedules.

Our Next Seminar:

Perdue

Tuesday, 31 March 2015 - 4:00 pm - Room CP 350

Environmental Science Ph.D. Student Symposium

Moderated by:

Dr. Michael Perdue,
Director Environmental Sciences Ph.D. Program

This Semester's Seminar Schedule:

Perdue Tuesday, 13 January, 2015
Dr. Michael Perdue,
Director Environmental Sciences Ph.D. Program
"Fast Graphically-Inspired Algorithm for Assignment of Chemical Formulae in Ultrahigh Resolution Mass Spectrometry"

Tuesday, 20 January, 2015
Dr. Michael Perdue,
and
Environmental Science Ph.D. Candidates
"Environmental Science Seminar Series Roundtable Discussion"

Shamus Driver Portrait

Tuesday, 27 January, 2015
Shamus Driver
Environmental Science Ph.D. Candidate

"Electrodialysis Application in the Isolation of Natural Organic Matter"

Mark Pyron

Tuesday, 3 February, 2015
Dr. Mark Pyron
Ball State University

"Regime Change in a Large River" 


Tuesday, 10 February, 2015
Dr. Michael Perdue,
and
Environmental Science Ph.D. Candidates

"Environmental Science Seminar Series Roundtable Discussion"

Khameiss

Tuesday, 17 February, 2015
Belkasim Khameiss
Environmental Science Ph.D. Candidate

"Paleoecology and Age Dating of Middle Tertiary Reefs in Northeastern Libya"

Shields

Tuesday, 24 February, 2015
Robert Shields
Environmental Science Ph.D. Candidate

"Age, Growth, and Prey of Freshwater Drum (Aplodinotus grunniens) in the Lower Missouri River"


Tuesday, 3 March, 2015

Spring Break - No Seminar

Lazorchak

Tuesday, 10 March, 2015
Dr. James Lazorchak
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

"What are Contaminants of Emerging Concern (CECs)?
How can CECs be Detected Using Biological Based Methods or Approaches?"

Rober 

Tuesday, 17 March, 2015
Dr. Allison Rober
Ball State University

"Introduction to Scientific Teaching"

Slide materials from Dr. Rober's presentation


Tuesday, 24 March, 2015

No Seminar


Tuesday, 31 March, 2015

Environmental Science Ph.D. Student Symposium

Engel 

Tuesday, 7 April, 2015
Dr. Annette Engel
University of Tennesee

"Microbial Carbon Cycling across Differing Hydrological Regimes in Karst, from Caves Streams to Deep Aquifers"

 

Tuesday, 14 April, 2015

Seminar Speaker/Topic pending

Becker

Tuesday, 21 April, 2015
Dr. Jesse Becker
Ball State University

Seminar Topic pending