These scholarships vary in amount (up to $2,500), eligibility criteria, renewability, and criteria for renewal. Please contact our department for more information.  To apply, please use this online form and have a PDF copy of your transcript and any supporting materials ready for upload. We are no longer accepting paper applications.

Robert L. and Sherles K. Barnet Scholarship: A renewable award to an incoming freshman declaring an intention to major in journalism.

Freshman Achievement Scholarship: One-time, nonrenewable award from the Department of Journalism and funded by alumni and general scholarship gifts.

Holmes-McFadden Journalism Scholarship: A renewable scholarship, with preference given to an incoming minority student who plans to major in the Department of Journalism. 

Louis E. Ingelhart Scholarship: Granted by the Journalism Alumni Association, a one-time, nonrenewable award to an exceptional student journalist who demonstrates outstanding high school journalism service and has a strong commitment to professional journalism.

Bona Cress Press and Lawrence Press Journalism Scholarship: A renewable award to an incoming freshman declaring an intention to major in journalism. Preference is given to students from traditionally underrepresented groups, non-Indiana residents, and/or bilingual students.

Michael Smith Scholarship: A renewable scholarship awarded to an incoming freshman journalism major with an academic index of 3.0 or higher or transfer student with a minimum GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale. Minimum SAT score of 1000 (old system) or 1500 (new system), or an ACT score of 21.

Theresa C. and Leonard S. Sowar Journalism Student Scholarship: A one-time award established by Mrs. Francis E. Stout in honor of her father and mother. The award is for incoming freshmen to help with the cost of books and supplies. First preference is given to a Muncie resident, second preference to a nontraditional student, and then to any entering journalism student.

Richard S. Simons Memorial Scholarship: A renewable award to an incoming freshman who declares an intention to major in journalism and demonstrates meritorious service, academic achievement, and aptitude. Financial need may also be considered.