The Department of Political Science offers majors and minors in political science, a major in legal studies, and a minor in European studies. We also have master’s programs in political science and public administration. You will find our full professors in charge of both introductory and advanced courses.

Not only are our teachers committed to excellence in the classroom, but they also pride themselves on scholarly publication and public service. They contribute thousands of volunteer hours to various government and not-for-profit boards and commissions. Several of our faculty members have even sought elective office and are active in both major political parties.

Our department is home to the Bowen Center for Public Affairs. The center, named after former Indiana Governor Otis R. Bowen, holds civic education seminars through the Bowen Institute on Political Participation, conducts training for public officials to ensure effective and efficient government administration, and helps establish best practices in public administration through original research and surveys of Hoosier citizens.