international admissionsConditional admission is available to students who are academically admissible to Ball State but do not meet our English proficiency requirements. Students who are eligible for conditional admission are admitted to the Intensive English Institute program at Ball State and must meet English proficiency requirements before being offered full admission to the university. Eligible students will receive an I-20 for English Language training and may receive an updated I-20 for academic study after receiving full admission. Visit our Frequently Asked Questions About Conditional Admission for more information.

Conditional admission is not available for all Ball State programs of study.

As an international undergraduate applicant, you are not required to submit English proficiency results, unless you are applying to the Department of Architecture, which requires you to submit passing TOEFL, Pearson's PTE, or IELTS scores.

If you receive conditional admission you will be offered admission to Ball State's Intensive English Institute. Any student admitted conditionally will take an English proficiency exam upon arrival at Ball State. The English placement exam will determine how many Intensive English Institute (IEI) [link to IEI] courses you will need to take before beginning a full academic semester of standard classes.

You will not need to take IEI courses and can begin your academic classes immediately if you do submit English proficiency exam results, as long as you received the following scores or higher:

  • 79 on the iBT version of the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL)
  • 550 on the PBT version of the TOEFL
  • 6.5 bands on the International Language Testing System (IELTS)
  • 53 on the Pearson's Academic (PTE)

If we do not receive TOEFL, PTE, or IELTS scores, we will automatically consider you for conditional admission.

English Proficiency Exam Waivers

You are waived from the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) or International English Language Testing System (IELTS) requirement if you have done any of the following in the U.S.:

  • earned a high school diploma
  • earned a college degree
  • have 24 credit hours of academic study

Also, you may be waived from the TOEFL/IELTS, if you have earned a degree from the following native English-speaking countries.

  • Anguilla
  • Antigua
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Barbuda
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • Botswana
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Canada (excluding Quebec)
  • Cayman Islands
  • Dominica
  • Fiji
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Ireland
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Montserrat
  • New Zealand
  • Nigeria
  • Philippines
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent and Grenadines
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Uganda
  • United Kingdom
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe