Topics: College of Architecture and Planning, Scholarships

February 14, 2007

The Indiana Architectural Foundation awarded 10 Ball State students scholarships ranging from $1,500 to $2,000.

To qualify, students had to submit credentials, a resume, letters of reference and an essay on the meaning of being a "citizen architect."

The recipients were:

  • Kristin Andre, a graduate student from Fort Wayne, Ind.
  • Alonzo Arambula, a senior from Crown Point, Ind.
  • Amanda Bordeaux, a graduate student from Warren, Ind.
  • Heidi Hagen, a senior from Monticello, Ind.
  • Sarah Hockemeyer, graduate student from Monroeville, Ind.
  • Brad Lightner, a senior from Granger, Ind.
  • Kathryn Marinaro, a junior from Noblesville, Ind.
  • Martin Merkel, a senior from Indianapolis
  • Jonathon Noble, a graduate student from Fort Wayne, Ind.
  • Kimberly Nordhoff, a senior from Bloomington, Ind.

The students' selection reflects well upon both the architecture department and on Ball State, said Joseph Bilello, dean of the College of Architecture and Planning.

"These students have presented a compelling case of their worthiness for professional and academic distinction by such a noteworthy organization as the Indiana Architectural Foundation," Bilello said. 

The students will be recognized during an April awards dinner hosted by the foundation, a nonprofit organization that supports architectural education, public awareness and the preservation of Indiana's architectural heritage.

By Jennifer Strempka