Topic: College of Communication Information and Media

May 17, 2007

IPR awards 2007
<b>Indiana Public Radio News recently won 19 awards. The team includes (from left) Marcus Jackman, Stan Sollars and Brian Beaver.</b>
Indiana Public Radio (IPR) News, Ball State's public radio service, recently won 13 awards from the Associated Press and another six from the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ).

For the fifth consecutive year, senior news correspondent Brian Beaver won the Associated Press' best reporter award. In addition, Beaver received Associated Press awards for:

  • First place, Best Spot News for "Pendleton Hazmat Spill"
  • First place, Best Feature for "Worldchangers Visit Muncie"
  • First place, Best News Series for "Delaware County Smoking Ban"
  • First place, Best Use of Sound for "Worldchangers Visit Muncie"
  • Second place, Best Enterprise Story for "Police Dog Stabbed"
  • Second place, Best Continuous Story for "Delaware County Smoking Ban"
  • Second place, Best News Series for "Taylor Crash"
  • Second place, Best Use of Sound for "Yorktown Band to NYC"

For the 25th time in his 15-year career, Stan Sollars, IPR's senior producer, was honored by the Associated Press. This time, Sollars was presented the Best Newscast/Long Form Award for "Morning Edition," the National Public Radio (NPR) show he hosts locally.

Marcus Jackman received an honorable mention in the best newscast/short form category for "All Things Considered," an NPR show he hosts locally.

The Associated Press awarded IPR's news team first place in the best community impact category for the station's coverage of election day problems. In addition, the news team placed second in the best news operation category.

IPR also received the following SPJ awards:

  • First place, Best Education Coverage - Brian Beaver for "Yorktown Band to NYC"
  • First place, Best General News - Brian Beaver for "Smoking Ban Enacted"
  • First place, Best Spot News - Brian Beaver for "Muncie Train Derailment"
  • First Place, Best Continuing Coverage - IPR News staff for "Election Day Snafu"
  • Second place, Best Newscast - Stan Sollars and IPR News team for Nov. 7, 2006, "Morning Edition"
  • Third place, Best Spot News - Brian Beaver for "Muncie Train Derailment"

A complete list of IPR's broadcast awards and online audio streaming can be found at

Indiana Public Radio is a service of Ball State University, a Public Radio International affiliate and a NPR member station. Its format includes NPR, news and classical music broadcast on WBST 92.1 FM, Muncie; WBSB 89.5 FM, Anderson; WBSW 90.9 FM, Marion; WBSJ 91.7 FM, Portland; and WBSH 91.1 FM, Hagerstown-New Castle.