Topics: Administrative, Alumni

August 17, 2007

Jo Ann M. Gora at convocation
<b>During the annual fall convocation, President Jo Ann M. Gora urged the Ball State community to take full advantage of the university’s wellness initiative to help curb spiraling healthcare costs. Read the <a href=,1370,53850-5961-54088,00.html>president~~~s remarks.</a></b>

Ball State bestowed its most prestigious honors to eight faculty members during the annual fall faculty meetings on Aug. 17.


The outstanding educators, selected by their peers, received cash awards from the Ball State University Foundation and plaques from the Alumni Association during the ceremony, considered the pre-eminent annual awards presentation for faculty.

Each was honored for outstanding contributions to students and to the university.

For complete background on the winners and their awards, click on the links next to their names.

Sushil Sharma, associate professor of information systems and operations management, Outstanding Research Award
Mei Zhong, associate professor of music performance, Outstanding Creative Endeavor Award
Kecia McBride, associate professor of English and department chairperson, Outstanding Teaching Award  
Carol Flores, professor of architecture, Outstanding Faculty Award  
Holmes Finch, assistant professor of educational psychology, Outstanding Junior Faculty Award
Linda Siktberg, associate professor and director, School of Nursing, Outstanding Administrative Service Award
Marilyn Buck, professor of physical education, sport and exercise science and associate provost and dean of University College, Outstanding Faculty Service Award
Patrick Collier, associate professor of English, Outstanding Faculty Academic Adviser Award