Meeting Minutes

Teacher College Alumni Society Meeting Minutes, June 25, 2013

Members Present:  Derek Berger, Vince Bertram, Alena Bogucki, Mike Garringer, Michelle Harrell, Tracy Hendricks, John Jacobson, Phil Metcalf, Denny Morrison, Wendy Robinson, and Kate Webber.

Speaker: Dixie Denton

Phil Metcalf called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

Upon a motion by Vince Bertram and second by Wendy Robinson, the September 8, 2012 minutes were approved by voice vote.


Outstanding Alumni Award Committee
Recipients of the Outstanding Alumni Award for 2013-14 are John Beineke and John Zakelj.  John Beineke, MA73EDD77 began his career teaching middle school and high school social studies in Marion Community Schools.  He has taught at three liberal arts institutions and is currently Distinguished Professor of Educational Leadership and Curriculum and Professor of History at Arkansas State University.  He has published many books, chapters, and articles.  Beineke was appointed by former Indiana Governor Evan Bayh to the Indiana Education Licensing and Certification Commission and was also a member of the NCATE Board.

John Zakelj, MAE00 teaches science at Union City Community High School in Union City, Indiana.  He has created and taught high school courses in environmental science, integrated chemistry, physics, introduction to renewable energy, fundamentals of biofuel production, and wind power.  Zakelj has been the key leader in developing a K-12 energy curriculum.  He initiated and managed the school’s renewable energy project, which included securing funding and overseeing the installation of a 1-kW wind turbine, a 920-W solar array, and data acquisition system.  Zakelj worked with Ivy Tech to enable students in the courses in the Alternative Energy Technologies Program to earn Ivy Tech credits that focus on learning how to maintain the turbines.    They were all dual credit courses that were supported by the superintendent, who secured a $100,000 grant from the Office of Community and Rural Affairs.  In 2002, Zakelkj was named Outstanding Young Educator by the Technology Educators of Indiana. 

A motion was made by John Jacobson to accept the nomination, seconded by Vince Bertram and approved by voice vote.

Scholarship Committee
Out of 11 submissions, 9 scholarships were awarded this year in the total amount of $9,000. The students, their hometowns, and the scholarship(s) are:

Devon Bell, Marlton, New Jersey, Earl Johnson Memorial, Teachers College Alumni, and Leslie J. Mauth Alumni Scholarships; Courtney Blosser, Fort Wayne, Indiana, Helen Sornson Elementary Scholarship; Elizabeth Nowak, Carmel, Indiana, Helen Sornson Elementary Scholarship; Emily Pittenger, Muncie, Indiana, John and Lavona Dunworth and Teachers College Alumni Scholarships; Sarah Rudmann, Union, Ohio, Helen Sornson Elementary Scholarship; James Simmons, Vincennes, Indiana, Myrtle Toops Secondary Education and Teachers College Alumni Scholarships; Kristina Smith, Indianapolis, Indiana, Helen Sornson Elementary and Teachers College Alumni Scholarships; Michael Smith, West Chester, Ohio, Leslie J. Mauth Alumni Scholarship;  and Stephanie Zook, Anderson, Indiana, Charles M. Kimbrough and McIntosh-Ross Family Special Education Scholarships.

A motion was made by Phil Metcalf to accept the selections of the scholarship committee.  The motion was approved by voice vote.

Teachers College Report and Dean’s Report
Dean Jacobson gave a report on changes and updates within the college.  Items mentioned included:

  • Teachers College offers ten online graduate programs, 14 graduate level certificates, and six licenses.
  • The Department of Educational Leadership doctoral cohort program is in its second year with 32 students at the Ball State Indianapolis Center and online.
  • The special education department has eight nationally recognized teacher licensing programs through the Council for Exceptional Children.
  • U.S. News & World Report ranked the college’s graduate programs 81st in the nation.
  • Teachers College online education programs for veterans ranked 8th in U.S. News & World Report.
  • Teachers College’s online programs ranked 17th in the nation by U.S. News & World Report for “student services technology.”
  • Burris Laboratory School earned a Gold Award.
  • The Washington Post ranked Burris 3rd in Indiana, 26th regionally and 398th nationally for “Americas Most Challenging High School.”
  • One thousand and eighteen students participated in 34 immersive learning programs during the 2012-13 academic school year.
  • School psychology program was given a seven year reaccreditation by the American Psychology Association.
  • Last phase of building renovation to begin fall semester.

Teachers College Presentation:  Dixie Denton “Living-Learning Community”
Dixie Denton gave a presentation on the Living-Learning Communities.  The communities allow first year students the opportunity to live with others who are pursuing the same area of study, or lifestyle choices, and encourage interaction outside the classroom.

Ball State has a set of programs which proved a supportive environment for freshmen.  The living-learning communities are one of those programs and have been recognized by U.S. News & World Report since 2004.

Faculty members facilitate study sessions and advise first year students.  They assist students in connecting with upper-level students, learning professional skills, and examine unique experiences within the community.

New Business
A brief discussion was held on ways alumni could connect and encourage kids to become teachers.   Suggestions included mentorship and cadet teaching programs and advertising more virtually by way of videos posted online.  Virtual engagement opportunities included webinars and co-teaching while  school is in session.  Reaching out to students before high school to let them know what career opportunities are available seemed to be a top priority.

Next Board Meeting
The next board meeting is Saturday, September 14, 2013 at 10:00 a.m. at the Alumni Center.  Lunch with 2013-14 Teacher College Scholarship recipients to follow meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 12:00 p.m., and lunch followed.