Elementary education majors at Ball State are required to select a concentration area to complement their education program. The technology concentration area provides the opportunity for you to acquire specialized professional knowledge beyond the minimum technological benchmarks expected of all future teachers.

You may count as many as 12 hours from the technology concentration toward a computer education teaching license. For more information contact the concentration coordinator or the Department of Elementary Education.

Technology Concentration Required Courses (15 hours)

Required Courses (12 hours)

ITDPT 100 - Technology and Society
EDTEC 350 - Curricular Integration of Technology
EDTEC 470 - Technology Policy and Ethics
ITDPT 400 - Capstone in Technology for the Elementary Grades

Choose 3 hours from the following courses:

CS 110 - Introduction to Computer Science
CS 116 - Visual Programming
EDCUR 331 - Public School Curriculum
EDRDG 445 - Using Computers in Reading Instruction
EDTEC 352 - Multimedia Web Design and Development for Education
EDTEC 355 - Learning and Teaching with Emerging Technologies
EDTEC 360 - Studies in Educational Technology
EDTEC 365 - Visual and Digital Literacies
EDTEC 480 - Internship in Educational Technology
EDTEC 485 - School Information Infrastructures and Technology Leadership
MATHS 330 - Technology in Elementary and Middle School Mathematics