Hiatt/Wickham Scholarship

Who are Thelma Hiatt and Martha Wickham?
This award is named after two women who served as role models to students as they served as members of the Ball State administration. This scholarship is an illustration of the importance of mentoring and service in leadership.

How does the scholarship work?
The award, established in honor of Thelma Hiatt and Martha Wickham, relies heavily on fundraising efforts of students and contributions of faculty, staff, students, and community members. The award is provided annually, and the recipient usually receives over $1,500 financial assistance. Scholarship funds will be applied toward tuition or housing costs for the 2015-2016 academic year.

Who is eligible for the award?
Applicants must be a current participant in the Excellence in Leadership program, must have maintained a grade point average of 3.0, must be in the Phase 1 of the program and have plans to continue to Phase 2. To be considered for this award, applicants must complete an application as well as participate in an interview process. The recipient of the Hiatt/Wickham Award will be announced at the Excellence in Leadership Recognition Reception in April. 

The scholars for 2014-2015 scholars are in place. The selection process for 2015 - 2016 will begin in February 2015.


Excellence in Leadership
Student Center, room 133
Ball State University
Muncie, IN 47306

Phone: 765-285-2621
View E-mail Address